Write your own Android Authenticator


udinic

When I wrote Any.DO’s sync system, about 18 months ago, I wanted to use the built in AccountManager API to authenticate and store the users’ credentials. When I used it to access Google accounts it seems a pretty simple experience, so I thought I should do that for Any.DO as well. It also goes very well with a sync mechanism (using a SyncAdapter), making it the perfect solution. The problem – no good documentation was out there. The developers community didn’t have much experience with that back then, and since we didn’t have much time to figure out issues that could arise from this “No man’s land”, a decision was made to use other methods.

But times have changed..

I recently studied that feature again for a project I’m working on, and saw there’s a huge improvement with the knowledge about it. Besides the better documentation on the Android.com site,

View original post 2,889 more words